Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram


Ron Pope - Work



"Work" is the seventh studio album from independent Nashville based artist Ron Pope. Over the last fifteen years he's become very successful while still retaining his independence. He's appeared in TV show "Nashville" and his music has featured in "The voice", "Vampire diaries", "90210" and "So you think you can dance".

The album was recorded at the "Welcome to 1979" studio in Nashville and was recorded in analog over the space of a week. Alongside Ron Pope are Jay Collins (Gregg Allman band) on Sax, Mike Riddleberger (Bleachers)on drums, Andrew Pertes (Savoir Adore) on bass, Kai Welch (Abigail Washburn, Glen Campbell) on keys and accordion, Jeff Malinowski (Frances Cone) on guitar, Alex Brumel on guitar and pedal steel, and Charles Ray on flugelhorn and trumpet. There are also guest vocals from Mary Richardson (The Banditos), Katie Schecter, Molly Parden and Vanessa MacGowan.

A video has been released for the song "Work" - check it out here...

Listening to the album it's easy to see why he's become so popular - this really is fantastic music. The songs are very well written, the vocals are able to carry lots of emotion and he's got a voice that's very versatile too. The lyrics are mainly autobiographical and whereas with some bands you pay more attention to the music and vocal melodies than the actual lyrics, with Ron Pope you find yourself focussing on the lyrics and listening to the stories the songs tell.

A fantastic album that's well worth checking out.

"Work" will be released on 18th August 2017 on Brooklyn basement records.

Track listing:

1. Bad for your health
2. Let's get stoned
3. Can't stay here
4. Work
5. The last
6. Someday we're all going to die
7. Partner in crime
8. Dancing days
9. The weather
10. Stick around

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook