Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Nightwish announce Floor Jansen as their new singer | FESTIVALPHOTO

Nightwish announce Floor Jansen as their new singer

Finnish metal titans Nightwish have confirmed that Floor Jansen, who took over vocal duties following the departure of Annette Olzen, is the band’s new permanent frontwoman. The band have also confirmed a lineup expansion from five members to six.

The band have released the following statement on their Facebook page:

“Ms. Floor Jansen is a keeper.

Also, we will be a six-piece band from now on, as Mr. Troy Donockley (uilleann pipes, low whistles, vocals) will become a full-time member of NIGHTWISH.

Originally we were going to wait until 2014 to make a decision about the future line-up of the band, but the past year has clearly shown us that Floor and Troy are perfect matching pieces to our puzzle, and we are really grateful of the bond that has grown between all of us.

We love you guys.


Jansen herself added “Words cannot describe what I feel! This union is beyond everything and I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to continue this amazing journey with my new brothers! Once I had a dream…and this is it!!!”

Troy Donockley was also on hand to comment, saying: “`Imaginaerum World Tour´was a revelation to me and in that time, I became aware of a growing unity and then, finally, a transcendence of all the usual nonsense that affects bands. A beautiful process. And since the idea, the musical dream that is NIGHTWISH has been a part of me since before I was born, I am delighted to officially sail into uncharted waters with my brothers and sister. Wondrous scenes Ahoy! ”

The new line-up can be seen on the live / tour documentary DVD, ‘Showtime, Storytime’, released on November 29th. If you can’t wait that long, you can always watch a brand new trailer, directed by Ville Lipiäinen here:

You can also preorder ‘Showtime, Storytime’ at:
The official Nightwish Shop at: (Shipping worldwide!)
Or from

Other links

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook