Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Rod Stewart - Rarities | FESTIVALPHOTO

Rod Stewart - Rarities



Rarities is a new collection of Rod Stewart material, and contains 24 tracks spread over two CDs. The material all dates from his time with Mercury records between 1969 and 1974, and as the title tells you, is rare material rather than being a greatest hits package. The material includes Alternate Versions, Singles, B-Sides, Studio Outtakes, Covers of songs by The Who, Bob Dylan, Cole Porter, Jimi Hendrix, Jerry Lee Lewis, Stealer’s Wheel and more - a pretty diverse selection.

Generally collections of rarities like this appeal mainly to the hardcore fans who already have the studio albums, live albums etc and are interested in more obscure material, whereas casual fans often see a lack of the well known songs and steer clear. With this collection though there are a few bits that make it appealing for more casual fans - the early version of "Maggie May" for instance is excellent and it's really interesting to hear how the song changed between this version and the well known final version. There's also an excellent version of "Pinball wizard", and some other great covers, so it's not just "alternate versions" that only dedicated fans can distinguish from the normal versions, there really is some good stuff here.

Collections like this are always a hard one to call - without knowing exactly how much of the stuff here is previously unreleased on CD then it's hard to guage it's appeal to hardcore fans, and it's never easy to judge how many more casual fans will find a rarities collection of interest. Personally I think it's a good collecton and worth buying.

"Rarities" is out now.

Track listing:

Disc 1:

1. It's All Over Now (Single Version)
2. Country Comforts (BBC Radio 1 Performance/1970)
3. Maggie May (Early Version)
4. Seems Like A Long Time (Alternate Version)
5. Lost Paraguayos (Alternate Version)
6. Italian Girls (Early Version)
7. You Wear It Well (Early Version)
8. I'd Rather Go Blind (Alternate Version)
9. Angel (Alternate Version)
10. What's Made Milwaukee Famous (Has Made A Loser Out Of Me) (Single Version)
11. Pinball Wizard
12. Every Time We Say Goodbye

Disc 2:

1. Oh! No Not My Baby (Single Version)
2. Jodie (Single Version)
3. So Tired
4. Missed You
5. Think I'll Pack My Bags (Early Version Of "Mystifies Me")
6. Girl From The North Country (Alternate Version)
7. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Man (Alternate Version)
8. Farewell (Early Version)
9. So Tired (Early Version)
10. You Put Something Better Inside Me
11. Crying Laughing Loving Lying
12. Maggie May (BBC Radio 1 Performance)

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook