Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Chantal Claret - The one, the only.... | FESTIVALPHOTO

Chantal Claret - The one, the only....



Chantal Claret is best known as the singer from US rock band Morningwood, and also as the wife of Mindless Self Indulgence singer Jimmy Urine. Her latest album is a somewhat different sound to her normal rock music. The album was released in the US last year and is now getting a UK release. The album, "The one, the only..." takes 60s girl pop and soul and adds some modern rock and hip hop to give a sound that is both modern and vintage at the same time.

This is one of those rare albums these days - one that stands out as totally different to most other album releases. There are lots of great albums, but most fall into a genre such as rock or folk and while most bands have their own sound, they do usually have a strong resemblance to other bands in the genre. With this album though, Chantal Claret has produced something with a refreshingly different sound. There are clear 60s influences here, but nobody else these days makes anything that sounds quite like this, especially as it's not just a 60s sound - it's more a modern take on a 60s sound.

You've got female backing singers and trumpets and saxophones alongside the drums and guitar, and of course you have Chantal's powerful voice. There are hints of Nancy Sinatra, Diana Ross and others from the 60s, but also Amy Winehouse or Duffy from more recent years, but it's how it all comes together with the other influences that makes this album so special and gives it such a refreshing yet familiar sound.

I definitely recommend that you watch the video for "Bite your tongue" below and that will give you a better idea of what to expect from the album. There's plenty of variety in the album but if you like "Bite your tongue" then you're almost certainly going to enjoy the album.

This is a great album and one that I'm likely to be listening to a lot over the coming weeks and months.

"The One, The Only…" will be released in the UK on 25th February on The End Records.

Track listing:

1. Intro
2. Bite your tongue
3. Pleasure seeker
4. Pop pop bang bang
5. This time
6. No love lost
7. Never gonna let you go
8. Real girls
9. Black widow
10. Honey honey
11. Song for the sinners
12. Light it up (featuring Pigeon John)
13. Can't save her

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook