Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Ian Hunter & the Rant band - When I'm president | FESTIVALPHOTO

Ian Hunter & the Rant band - When I'm president



Ian Hunter first came to fame as part of British music legends, Mott the Hoople from 1969 to 1974. Since then he's had a successful solo career, releasing some great albums over the years. This latest album, "When I'm president" is his 20th solo album of original songs.

For anyone who hasn't listened to any of Ian Hunter's solo work, then good comparisons would be Bruce Springsteen and Tom Petty, so if you're a fan of either of them, then Ian Hunter is a musician you really should check out.

Speaking about the new album, Ian Hunter says "The songs seem to be more upbeat this time round. The last two albums were pretty political, just because I thought the Bush years were horrible, and thankfully that's passed. But I don't go looking for songs; I have to wait for them to come to me. I had a spurt there in the summer of 2011, and that grew into this album. I'd get up every day with something ringing in my head, so I'd try to catch it and get it down. Songwriting's always been a mystery to me in that way. Now and again you're nearer the sun, and you have to be ready to capture it."

Brief comments on a few songs..

While the songs on this album may be less political than previous albums, that's not to say there isnt any politics here - title track "When I'm president" is certainly a political song, and a damn good one at that.

"Wild bunch" is a more upbeat song with a great tune, good lyrics and with the last part of the song sung to the tune of "Glory glory hallelujah".

"Ta shunka witco (crazy horse)" is a song written about the famous Sioux Indian chief, Crazy Horse (his real name being Tashunka witco), and has a more sombre feel to it which reflects the lyrics and how the Sioux were treated. it's a fantastic song - very powerful and one of many great songs on the album.

With Ian Hunter's reputation then I'd expected a very good album, but this is even better than I'd expected - truly a great album. Highly recommended.

"When I'm president" is out on 4th September 2012 via Proper Records

Track listing:

1. Comfortable (Flying Scotsman)
2. Fatally flawed
3. When I'm president
4. What for
5. Black tears
6. Saint
7. Just the way you look tonight
8. Wild bunch
9. Ta shunka witco (Crazy horse)
10. I don't know what you want
11. Life

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook