Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Swing Out Sister - It's better to travel | FESTIVALPHOTO

Swing Out Sister - It's better to travel



Universal Music Catalogue’s new “Re-presents” label takes well known and loved albums from decades gone and releases them in a new form. This release is Swing Out Sister's 1987 album "It's better to travel". The album spent 21 weeks in the charts and reached the number one spot. The album contained two top ten hit singles - "Breakout" which reached number 4 in the charts spending 14 weeks in the charts, and "Surrender" which spent 8 weeks in the charts and reached number 7. The album achieved platinum sales status and earned the band two Grammy nominations (‘Best New Artist’ and ‘Best Pop Vocal Performance by a Group or Duo’ for Breakout.).
Despite the band's subsequent releases failing to achieve much chart success, the band managed to release ten albums plus two live albums, and performed live shows for over a decade.

As with other releases from Universal's "Re-Presents" label, the package is a double CD release and includes not only the original album, but also a host of other material - extra tracks, remixes etc.

This enhanced 2CD package has been compiled by Swing Out Sister (Corinne Drewery and Andy Connell), the audio has been re-mastered and the brand new booklet features sleeve notes written by the band and a host of carefully selected photography.

The original album still sounds good with its sophisticated blend of Jazz and Pop. The use of horns gives a distinctive sound, and the synth is well done and is used to replace strings, so you get a sophisticated, rich and powerful sound which when mixed with the well written songs is a strong combination.

The remixes are surprisingly good. Often a remix is taking something great and trying to change it. which often spoils it - a bit like some of the silly modifications kids do to their cars. Swing Out Sister's music though seems to work well when taken and remixed and as a result you've got some great new versions here - well worth listening to.

A great package for a great pop album

"It's better to travel" 2CD expanded edition will be released on 16th July 2012

Track Listing:

Disc 1

1. Breakout
2. Twilight World (Superb Superb mix)
3. After Hours
4. Blue Mood
5. Surrender
6. Fooled By A Smile
7. Communion
8. It's Not Enough
9. Theme from It's Better to Travel
10. Breakout (NAD Mix)
11. Surrender (Stuff Gun Mix)
12. Twilight World (Gas Distress Mix)

Disc 2

1. Breakout (A New Rockin' version)
2. Surrender (Roadrunner mix)
3. Fooled By A Smile (Ralph mix)
4. Blue mood (Dubbed up mix)
5. Communion (Instrumental)
6. Dirty Money
7. Fever
8. Who's To Blame
9. Wake Me When It's Over
10. Another Lost Weekend
11. Blue mood (Growler mix)
12. Breakout (Horny mix)

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook