Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Saxon - Heavy metal thunder live, Eagles over Wacken (DVD & double CD) | FESTIVALPHOTO

Saxon - Heavy metal thunder live, Eagles over Wacken (DVD & double CD)



Saxon have just released "Heavy metal thunder - Eagles over Wacken" in a variety of formats. The first is a DVD + 2CD's. The DVD is a "Best of" compilation of Saxon's performances at Wacken Open Air from 2004,2007,2009. The CD's are the band's live show at Glasgow in April 2011. The second option is a single DVD - the same "best of" disc as in the first option. The third option is a double CD of the band's 2009 Wacken performance. There is a vinyl album version available - again of the 2009 Wacken performance, spread over 3 LPs.

The ultimate edition though has to be the version only available for fans to order via the bands website and limited to 500 copies. This contains - Digipack - "Best of“ DVD, DVD - W:O:A 2009 - Fans choice Setlist (full Show), DVD - W:O:A 2007 (full Show), DVD - W:O:A 2004 (full Show) and a Saxon Flag. Sadly this version sold out straight away.

This review is of the DVD and double CD package.

Rather than coming in a standard size DVD case like the single DVD option, this comes in a CD sized gatefold package that opens up to reveal the three discs plus nice photos. The package contains a DVD containing a "best of" collection of songs from Saxon's performances at Wacken in 2004, 2007 and 2009, and two CD's. The CD's are a live recording from Saxon's show in Glasgow on 14th April 2011 - part of the band's Call to arms world tour.

As you'd expect from the CD's, being a live show on the Call to arms tour the setlist contains some new material as well as crowd pleasing favourites. We get "Hammer of the gods", "Call to arms", "Back in '79" and "When doomsday comes" from the Call to Arms album, as well as all those classics that no Saxon show would be complete without, including "Wheels of steel", "Denim and leather", "Crusader" and many more. It's good that while there are some songs on the live CD that are also included on the Wacken DVD, there are plenty of songs that arent which adds a lot more variety and interest. The Glasgow show sounds to have been a good night judging by the album, but with professionals like Saxon, bad gigs are few and far between.

One bit that I'm pleased about with the DVD is that as each song starts a title on screen tells you which years performance it is from - as that information isnt printed anywhere on the package then I'm pleased to see it is here. All three performances are well filmed and the sound quality is excellent. The DVD has been well edited to give a fairly seamless transition between songs so that although it's made up of footage from three shows it actually feels like one.

This is a great DVD package. The DVD itself is excellent, and the includsion of a double live CD just makes it even better value. An essential addition to the collection of any Saxon fan.

Track listings:

DVD: BEST OF W:O:A 2009, ‘07, ‘04 (Disc 1)
1. Intro
2. Battalions Of Steel
3. Heavy Metal Thunder
4. Metalhead
5. Let Me Feel Your Power
6. To Hell And Back Again
7. If I Was You
8. Killing Ground
9. Unleash The Beast
10. Dogs Of War
11. Rock ‘n‘ Roll Gypsy
12. Are We Travellers In Time
13. The Eagle Has Landed
14. 747 (Strangers In The Night)
15. Dallas 1 PM
16. Witchfinder General
17. Solid Ball Of Rock
18. 20,000 Feet
19. Red Star Falling
20. Rock The Nations
21. Power And The Glory
22. Stallions Of The Highway
23. Live To Rock
24. And The Bands Played On
25. Princess Of The Night
26. I‘ve Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)
27. Attila The Hun
28. Denim And Leather
29. Ashes To Ashes
30. Crusader
31. Wheels Of Steel

CD: GLASGOW LIVE, 14th April 2011

Disc 2:

1. Hybrid (Intro)
2. Hammer Of The Gods
3. Heavy Metal Thunder
4. Back In 79
5. Never Surrender
6. I‘ve Got To Rock (To Stay Alive)
7. Dallas 1 PM
8. Call To Arms
9. Solid Ball Of Rock
10. Demon Sweeney Todd
11. And The Bands Played On
12. Man And Machine
13. Play It Loud
14. When Doomsday Comes (Hybrid Theory)
15. To Hell and Back Again

Disc 3:

1. Motorcycle Man
2. Denim And Leather
3. Princess Of The Night
4. Crusader
5. 747 (Strangers In The Night)
6. The Eagle Has Landed
7. 20,000 Feet
8. Strong Arm Of The Law
9. Wheels Of Steel

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook