Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Crystal Viper - Crimen excepta | FESTIVALPHOTO

Crystal Viper - Crimen excepta



Polish metallers Crystal Viper are back with their new album and are sounding better than ever. The new album, Crimen Excepta is a concept album about holy inquisition, black magic and witches, where fiction is mixed with historical facts

The album cover has been painted by French artist Chris Moyen, who has worked with bands including Slayer, Trivium, Beherit and Blasphemy.

In terms of vocals, Marta has a traditional heavy metal vocal style, similar to bands including Crucified Barbara, Hysterica, Bitch Doro and others. Musically there are clear Iron Maiden influences, and German heavy metal bands including Accept sound to be influences too.

Comments on a few of the tracks...

The track "Crimen Excepta" features some guest vocals from Hell singer David Bower although these are limited to just a small part of the song unfortunately. At times the song really shows how strongly influenced the band are by Iron Maiden - in parts it sounds almost identical to part of Iron Maiden's "Flight of Icarus"

For the Vader cover, "Tyrani Piekiel" (Tyrants of Hell), Marta is joined on vocals by Vader singer Piotr "Peter" Wiwczarek. This is the heaviest song on the album (hardly a surprise really given that it is a Vader song).

The final song is "Ghosts of Sherwood" recorded as the theme song for the forthcoming 3D cinema horror movie "Robin Hood: Ghosts Of Sherwood".

Fans who buy the album on vinyl get the bands cover version of the classic Demon song "Night Of The Demon".

If you are a fan of bands including Iron Maiden and Stuka Squadron then the chances are you'll love this album - if you're not a fan of either of those bands then this probably isnt for you - the Iron Maiden influences are very strong.

I think its a great album that's well worth checking out.

Crystal Viper are:

Marta Gabriel (vocals, guitars)
Andy Wave (guitars)
Tom Woryna (bass)
Golem (drums)

Track listing:

1. Witch’s Mark
2. Child Of The Flame
3. It’s Your Omen
4. Crimen Excepta
5. Medicus Animarum
6. The Spell Of Death
7. Hope Is Gone, Here’s New Law
8. Fire Be My Gates

Bonus tracks on CD first pressing:

9. Tyrani Piekiel (Vader cover)
10. Ghosts Of Sherwood

Bonus track on the vinyl issue:

Night Of The Demon

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook