Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Various artists - Northern soul: 20 Original Classics Volume 2 | FESTIVALPHOTO

Various artists - Northern soul: 20 Original Classics Volume 2



The compilation album Northern soul: 20 Original Classics, was released in July 2010, and now the team behind it are back with a second volume of Northern soul classics.

The tracks have been compiled by Johnny Chandler, with sleevenotes by Paolo Hewitt author of books on Oasis, The Jam, Small Faces and The Beatles.

The album is slightly surprising - but in a good way. While there are some household names included - The Supremes, Dusty Springfield, Ray Charles & The Temptations, the tracks chosen arent the ones you'd expect. Usually you'd expect a bunch of their hit singles but instead the album opts for lesser known gems from the back catalogue of these artists. That's a brave choice - little known tracks by big names plus songs by lesser known artists such as Nolan Porter or The Hit Pack. This choice might put some people off the album - but to skip this album would be a mistake if you're a fan of Northern Soul.
Although the album is made up of lesser known material, that does not mean it's not good stuff. In fact the album contains some really good stuff, and the song choices mean that most people won't already have these songs in their collections, and lets face it half the compilations these days are packed full of the same songs so people have most of them in their collection already. With this album however the chances are that most people wont have more than one or two of the songs already, so this is actually a much better purchase than your average compilation.

In my opinion this is a great album and an essential addition to the collection of any Northern Soul fans.

The album is currently available to pre-prder from Amazon at the ridiculously low price of just £3 - and at that price you really can't afford to miss out !!

Northern Soul: 20 original classics volume 2 is out on 16th April 2012 via Spectrum Audio

Track Listing:

1. The Impressions - Can't Satisfy
2. Martha Reeves & Vandellas - Show Me The Way
3. Ray Charles - I Don't Need No Doctor
4. Dusty Springfield - What's It Gonna Be
5. The Temptations - Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
6. The Supremes – Love Is Like An Itching In My Heart
7. Billy Stewart - Secret Love
8. The Dells - Run For Cover
9. Nolan Porter - If I Could Only Be Sure
10. Mary Wells - Drop In The Bucket
11. Eddie Holman - I Love You
12. Yvonne Baker - You Didn't Say A Word
13. Greg Perry - Variety Is The Spice Of Life
14. Fontella Bass - Rescue Me
15. Joe Cato - I'm So Glad
16. Kelly Brothers - Crystal Blue Persuasion
17. Kim Weston - Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me For A Little While)
18. Tammi Terrell - All I Do Is Think About You
19. The Hit Pack - Never Say No To Your Baby
20. Terry Callier - I Don't Want To See Myself (Without You)

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook