Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Nik Kershaw - Human racing | FESTIVALPHOTO

Nik Kershaw - Human racing



Universal Music Catalogue’s new “Re-presents” label takes well known and loved albums from decades gone and releases them in a new form. This release is Nik Kershaw's 1984 album "Human Racing". Human Racing was released in February 1984 and achieved platinum sales and a nomination for “Best Album” at the 1985 Brit Awards. The album reached number 5 in the UK album charts and spent 61 weeks in the chart - an impressive figure.
The album includes the massive hits "Wouldn't it be good" and "I won't let the sun go down on me", both of which reached the top 10 (numbers 4 and 2 respectively), as well as the top twenty hit "Human racing".

It's been digitally remastered from the original tapes to ensure it sounds as good as possible. The first CD of this double CD package is the remastered album. The second disc comprises of B-sides, remixes, alternative or extended versions and a live track. It's the first time that the material on disc 2 has been released digitally, so is sure to appeal to fans who had any of the original 12 inch singles.

The CD booklet includes lyrics for the songs on the album, and also a note written by Nik Kershaw for this release.

The album really does sound great - it's crystal clear and sounds better than ever. Listening to the album after so long reminded me how good some of the music in the 80's was - the album still sounds great, and the hits in particular haven't aged at all. The second CD is more of a mixed bag. The remixes vary a lot - some I think sound really good, and others aren't as good as the normal version in my view - that's something that applies to most bands though, sometimes a remix can work brilliantly and other times it just doesnt sound as good as the original.

If you're a fan of Nik Kershaw or 80's pop music in general then this album is highly recommended.

Track Listing:

CD 1 Human Racing - The album
1. Dancing Girls
2. Wouldn't It Be Good
3. Drum Talk
4. Bogart
5. Gone To Pieces
6. Shame On You
7. Cloak And Dagger
8. Faces
9. I Won't Let The Sun Go Down On Me
10. Human Racing

CD2 - The B sides and 12" mixes
1. Dancing Girls (extended 12" remix)
2. Bogart (extended 12" remix)
3. Monkey Business
4. Shame On You (additional brass mix)
5. Drum Talk (extended 12" remix)
6, Faces (extended 12" remix)
7. Dark Glasses
8. Wouldn't It Be Good (extended 12" remix)
9. Human Racing (extended 12" remix)
10. She Cries
11. I Won't Let The Sun Go Down On Me - (extended 12" remix)
12. Cloak And Dagger (live at Hammersmith Odeon 1984)

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook