Join Festivalphoto at Faceboook
Follow Festivalphoto at Twitter
Watch our festival videos at Youtube
Follow Festivalphoto at Instagram

Nik Kershaw - Human Racing Release Date : 27-Feb-2012 | FESTIVALPHOTO

Nik Kershaw - Human Racing Release Date : 27-Feb-2012


Universal Music Catalogue’s new Re-presents label takes well-known and loved albums from decades gone and quite literally re-presents them in a fresh, new form. This new 2 CD Nik Kershaw package includes the original album as it was in its entirety, and comes crammed full of exciting material including original B-sides, alternative mixes, extended versions and edits – many of which have never before appeared on CD. It’s a sure way to whet the appetites of seasoned fans and new discoverers to these classic records.
Human Racing was released in February 1984. The first of four albums recorded for MCA records, it achieved platinum sales and a nomination for “Best Album” at the 1985 Brit Awards. Its release was greeted by a combination of teen hysteria, critical acclaim and praise from the likes of Jimmy Page, Eric Clapton and prompted Elton John to call Kershaw “one of the best songwriters of a generation”.
This special 2 CD edition, compiled by Nik himself, features the album, digitally re-mastered from the original 1/2” mix tapes and associated 12” mixes and B-sides. It includes a previously unreleased version of Bogart, a special brass mix of Shame on You and a live version of Cloak and Dagger recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon. None of the material on CD2 has ever before been available in a digital format and the booklet contains a brand new sleeve note written by Nik.
Track Listing
CD 1 Human Racing - The album
1. Dancing Girls
2. Wouldn't It Be Good
3. Drum Talk
4. Bogart
5. Gone To Pieces
6. Shame On You
7. Cloak And Dagger
8. Faces
9. I Won't Let
The Sun Go Down On Me
10. Human Racing
CD 2 - The B sides and 12" mixes
1. Dancing Girls (extended 12" remix)
2. Bogart (extended 12" remix)
3. Monkey Business
4. Shame On You (additional brass mix)
5. Drum Talk (extended 12" remix)
6, Faces (extended 12" remix)
7. Dark Glasses
8. Wouldn't It Be Good (extended 12" remix)
9. Human Racing (extended 12" remix)
10. She Cries
11. I Won't Let The Sun Go Down On Me - (extended 12" remix)
12. Cloak And Dagger (live at Hammersmith Odeon 1984)

Writer: Anthony May
I don't have Facebook